logo Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science

Farmacia Centrale di Pisa [Central Pharmacy of Pisa]

The pharmacy originated as the "English Dispensary", furnishing curative substances to the English who came to stay in Pisa. This activity has been recorded since 1862, as indicated by a precious document kept in the pharmacy. Destroyed during World War II and subsequently rebuilt, it was remodelled in the early 1980s. On this occasion, shelves dating from the late 19th century which had formed part of the original furnishings were utilised as partition between the sales area and the back room. On the walls visitors can still admire an antique "call hook" for the doctors.


Texts by Francesco Boccanera, Anna Vittoria Laghi

English translation by Catherine Frost

Last update 27/feb/2008